Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
GuitarGuy

Do you play any instruments?

14 posts in this topic

Do you play any instruments and what instruments do you play? How long have you been playing for?

I can play the trumpet and the guitar. Guitar is my main instrument as that is what I went to college for. I am a guitar teacher for my full time job. I just love the guitar and helping people get better with their guitar skills.

Sadly, I have zero musical ability. My husband plays drums and can strum around on the guitar a bit and, thankfully, our daughter has inherited his ear for music. She's taken two years of piano lessons and just recently started drum lessons. It amazes me what she is able to pick up by ear alone.

49 minutes ago, SandraDee said:

Sadly, I have zero musical ability. My husband plays drums and can strum around on the guitar a bit and, thankfully, our daughter has inherited his ear for music. She's taken two years of piano lessons and just recently started drum lessons. It amazes me what she is able to pick up by ear alone.

That is great to hear about your daughter. Not many people can play that good just by ear alone. I encourage her if she isn't already to start reading music as well as that will take her level of skill way up there and can be even more creative when it comes to music.

I have always wondered how people "learn" to play drums. It isn't musical and it's more beat driven. I see someone having to have a feel for beats in order to do drums well.

9 hours ago, The North said:

I have always wondered how people "learn" to play drums. It isn't musical and it's more beat driven. I see someone having to have a feel for beats in order to do drums well.

Drums is not musical? Drummers have to know how to read music and rhythms just as much as other music instruments do :) I do agree though that someone does have to have a feel for the beat to help out.